The Baraza la Kiswahili la Berlin (BALAKI-BE) – Presentation and Discussion Sessions in Swahili

 
 

Flag German

Trenner

Baraza 2019

Baraza 2011/12

Baraza 2010/11

Baraza 2009/10

 

 

The Swahili term baraza describes informal meetings and regular discussion rounds among neighbours and friends that occur in everyday street life on the Swahili coast, usually in front of houses and in a casual atmosphere. The term also signifies the location where these gatherings commonly take place: the stone benches on the outer walls of houses in East African coastal towns. These gatherings give locals the opportunity to communally discuss, interpret and question any topics of interest to the attendees and may include the latest news and gossip as well as cultural topics, and religious and political conversations and discussions. In this spirit, the baraza constitutes a place and time for the exchange of knowledge within a familiar social context.

The Baraza la Kiswahili la Berlin (BALAKI-BE) is a Swahili-speaking meeting point, a kind of jour fixe for Swahilophone researchers, advanced students and interested members of the public. Each meeting is ranked around a talk or presentation that may be more or less academic in character; from research papers to biographical accounts a broad range of topics can be covered in this ongoing series of informal discussions.

On the one hand, as a platform for academic exchange on research-related topics, the Baraza la Kiswahili la Berlin (BALAKI-BE) is open to contributions in disciplines ranging from linguistics, literature and history, over to political science, philosophy and social anthropology. It thus acts as a platform for the presentation and discussion of research as well as literary documentation and translation. On the other hand, the baraza offers a space for literary and biographical presentations by East African authors, poets and other personalities, and for discussions with them.

Trenner

The very first Baraza la Kiswahili la Berlin (BALAKI-BE) took place in July 2008 with two prominent guests from Kenya: The Kenyan poet Ustadh Ahmad Nassir who recited a selection of his poems and the former politician and Islamic scholar, Sheikh Abdilahi Nassir who gave a speech on “Kenyan Muslims and the Righting of Historical Injustices: the Case of Mwambao” Link.

Trenner

Baraza - Events 2019

Tuesday, 20 May 2019, 4 pm, ZMO
“Majadiliano kuhusu kitabu kipya cha Kai Kresse kiitwacho ‘Swahili Muslim Publics and Postcolonial Experience‘ (2018)” – “Discussion on Kai Kresse’s latest book ‘Swahili Muslim Publics and Postcolonial Experience’ (2018)”

Baraza with Kai Kresse (Freie Universität Berlin/ZMO), Hassan Mwakimako (Pwani University, Kilifi, Kenya), Irene Brunotti (Leipzig University) and Clarissa Vierke (Bayreuth University).

In ten-minute contributions the discussants reviewed the recently published book by Kai Kresse in which he explores the ideas and public discussions that have shaped and defined the experience of Kenyan coastal Muslims. The event was enriched by a video comment of Tanzanian professor Hamza Njozi (Muslim Universitity of Morogoro) who draw parallels with the experience of Tanzanian Muslims and praised the book for its ethnographical and collaborative sensitive approach.

You can find an english translation of professor Njozi's video comment here.

 

Trenner

Monday, April 29th, 2019, 4 pm ZMO
„Kumbukumbu ya mshairi marehemu Ustadh Ahmad Nassir“ – „Remembering the late poet Ustadh Ahmad Nassir“

Baraza with Abdilatif Abdalla (Leipzig University) and Kai Kresse (Freie Universität Berlin/ZMO)

Together Abdilatif Abdalla and Kai Kresse remembered the late Swahili poet Ustadh Ahmad Nassir Juma Bhalo, who deceased on January 9th, 2019.  Abdilatif Abdalla’s older brother was born in the Kenyan coastal metropolis Mombasa in 1936. He became known in particular through his collections of poems “Malenga wa Mvita” (Oxford University Press, 1971), “Poems from Kenya: Gnomic Verses in Swahili” (University of Wisconsin Press, 1966), “Taa ya Umalenga” (Kenya Literature Bureau, 1978) as well as through his epic “Utenzi wa Mtu ni Utu” (Macmillan, 1979) in which he elucidates utu as key term for understanding humans as moral beings, and he lays out an ethics based on this.

Ustadh Ahmad Nassir was a guest at ZMO at the first baraza in 2008. You can find more information on the event here.

Dr. Harrison Mwalima of Deutsche Welle produced a radio feature about this baraza. You can listen to it here.

 

 

Trenner

Boat Map
     

DieBaraza la Kiswahili la Berlin (BALAKI-BE) - eine swahilisprachige Veranstaltungsreihe

 
 

Flagge English

Trenner

Baraza 2019

Baraza 2011/12

Baraza 2010/11

Baraza 2009/10

 

 

Auf Swahili beschreibt der Begriff baraza u.a. regelmäßig stattfindende, informelle, nachbarschaftliche und offene Gesprächsrunden. Zudem werden damit auch die Steinbänke bezeichnet, welche sich in ostafrikanischen Küstenstädten oft an den Außenwänden der Häuser befinden und an denen sich die Treffen ereignen. Diese in der Öffentlichkeit stattfindenden Zusammenkünfte bieten Raum für zwanglose Gespräche, Diskussionen, Reflektionen, Interpretationen und Hinterfragung täglicher Geschehnisse, politischer Entwicklungen und vieler weiterer Themen. In diesem Sinne stellt die baraza einen Ort des Wissensaustausches und Erkenntnisgewinns im Rahmen einer vertrauten sozialen Atmosphäre dar.

Die Baraza la Kiswahili la Berlin (BALAKI-BE) ist eine swahilisprachige, interdisziplinäre Veranstaltungsreihe, welche als offene Plattform für einen forschungspraktischen Austausch über Swahili-bezogene Themen gedacht ist. Die Reihe umfasst zum einen Gastvorträge zur gegenwärtigen Forschung mit anschließenden Diskussionsrunden aus verschiedenen Fachrichtungen, wie etwa den Sprach-, Literatur-, Politik- und Geschichtswissenschaften, der Philosophie und Sozialanthropologie. Zum anderen nehmen Beiträge in Form von Lesungen und Gesprächen mit ostafrikanischen SchriftstellerInnen, DichterInnen und DenkerInnen einen wichtigen Platz in der baraza ein. Ebenso bietet die Veranstaltungsreihe Raum für Präsentationen und Diskussionen literarischer Übersetzungsprojekte sowie wissenschaftlicher Arbeiten.

Trenner

Die erste Baraza la Kiswahili la Berlin (BALAKI-BE) fand im Juli 2008 mit zwei Gästen aus Kenia statt: dem Dichter Ustadh Ahmad Nassir, welcher aus seiner Dichtung vortrug und dem ehemaligen Politiker und religiösen Gelehrten Sheikh Abdilahi Nassir mit einem Vortrag zu Kenyan Muslims and the Righting of Historical Injustices: the Case of Mwambao.

Weitere Informationen zu dieser Veranstaltung finden sie unter: http://www.zmo.de/veranstaltungen/2008/DokumentationSwahiliNight.html

Trenner

Baraza - Veranstaltungen 2019

Dienstag, 20. Mai 2019, 16 Uhr, ZMO
“Majadiliano kuhusu kitabu kipya cha Kai Kresse kiitwacho ‘Swahili Muslim Publics and Postcolonial Experience‘ (2018)” – “Diskussion über das neue Buch Kai Kresses ‘Swahili Muslim Publics and Postcolonial Experience’ (2018)”

Baraza mit Kai Kresse (Freie Universität Berlin/ZMO), Hassan Mwakimako (Pwani University, Kilifi, Kenia), Irene Brunotti (Universität Leipzig) und Clarissa Vierke (Universität Bayreuth).

In etwa zehnminütigen Beiträgen mit anschließenden Diskussionen rezensierten die Diskutant*innen das vor wenigen Monaten erschienene Buch von Kai Kresse, in dem dieser Ideen und öffentliche Debatten untersucht, die die Erfahrung, was es heißt, ein Muslim von der kenianischen Küste zu sein, geprägt und definiert haben. Bereichert wurde die Veranstaltung durch einen Videokommentar des tansanischen Professors Hamza Njozi (Muslim University of Morogoro), der Parallelen zu den Erfahrungen tansanischer Muslime zog und dem Buch gegenüber wegen seiner sensitiven Ethnografie und seiner kollaborativen Herangehensweise Anerkennung zollte.

Eine englische Übersetzung von Professor Njozis Video- kommentar finden Sie hier.



 

 

Trenner

Montag, 29. April 2019, 16 Uhr, ZMO
„Kumbukumbu ya mshairi marehemu Ustadh Ahmad Nassir“ – „Erinnerungen an den verstorbenen Poeten Ustadh Ahmad Nassir“

Baraza mit Abdilatif Abdalla (Universität Leipzig) und Kai Kresse (Freie Universität Berlin/ZMO)

Abdilatif Abdalla und Kai Kresse erinnerten sich gemeinsam an den am 09. Januar 2019 verstorbenen Swahilipoeten Ustadh Ahmad Nassir Juma Bhalo. Der ältere Bruder Abdilatif Abdallas wurde 1936 in der kenianischen Künstenmetropole Mombasa geboren und wurde vor allem durch seine Gedichtsbände „Malenga wa Mvita“ (Oxford University Press, 1971), „Poems from Kenya: Gnomic Verses in Swahili“ (University of Wisconsin Press, 1966), „Taa ya Umalenga“ (Kenya Literature Bureau, 1978) und seinen Epos „Utenzi wa Mtu ni Utu“ (Macmillan, 1979) bekannt. In Letzterem erläutert er den Utu-Begriff als zentral für das Verständnis des Menschen als Wesen, und skizziert eine hierauf aufbauende Ethik.

Ustadh Ahmad Nassir war im Jahr 2008 zur ersten baraza Gast am ZMO. Nähere Informationen zu dieser Veranstaltung finden Sie hier.

Dr. Harrison Mwalima von der Deutschen Welle hat ein Radio-Feature zu dieser Baraza produziert. Sie können es hier anhören.